8 fast food meals…vegan-style.

Valentina Snow
9 min readFeb 11, 2022
Photo by Terry Jaskiw on Unsplash

Like many people who grew up in America, eating fast-food was part of my regular diet. I remember, about once a week as a treat, on the way home from pre-school, my mom would bring me to McDonalds to get a kid’s meal. It was a magical feeling- opening the warm white bag and looking inside to find a pile of chicken nuggets and a little toy. I remember, on the twice-a-year-road-trips my family would take, we would stop at Taco Bell and get crunchy tacos and bean burritos. I remember, when I was about 10 years old and I started to become more aware of the food I was eating. I remember when the iconic documentary film “Supersize Me” was released, and this instigated me to further investigate food and health. My family stopped going to McDonalds, and when we did go to Taco Bell, I would result to ordering mostly vegetarian options (which were, and still are, minimal compared to the options available with meat).

As the years have gone on, fast-food restaurants have unquestionably increased the number of vegetarian options they provide, and in more recent years, vegan options.

Although I pretty much stopped eating fast-food altogether once I hit teen-hood, in recent years- since converting to eating a plant-based diet- I have began experimenting with it.

I think it started when Carl’s Jr. came out with their Beyond Burger, around 2018. My fellow…

--

--

Valentina Snow

Hello everyone! I am here to share some of my thoughts, feelings, experiences, and ideas. I believe we all have something to learn from each other.